BOOKISH FINDS: The Hours and If Nobody Speak of Remarkable Things

DSC_1077

DSC_1362

I fell off the wagon. If I’m completely honest I wasn’t trying particularly hard to stay on. Books are being hoarded under my bed now that there’s no more room on my shelf which some might say is a sign to stop, but those people are wrong. Or at least I’m pretending they are. Anyway, I picked up these two books at Oxfam so although I felt guilty about breaking my self-imposed ban at least the money was going to a good cause!

The Hours by Michael Cunningham

I wrote this down on a list about a year ago when I was browsing through the shelves at Truro’s Waterstones, but like most lists in disappeared only to be discovered twelve months later. I had to google the book because I couldn’t remember anything about it but as soon as I read the blurb I knew I wanted it. Virginia Woolf has always fascinated me, the same way Sylvia Plath has. I read Mrs. Dalloway in November and was taken away with the ease in which she slips between the minds of her characters. The Hours follows Woolf writing the novel but also two other female characters. I’m excited to see how they all link together. I’m not a fan of novels with film covers but it does have Meryl Streep on the front which appeased me somewhat.

If Nobody Speaks of Remarkable Things by Jon McGregor

This is another book that has fallen onto a list: my 2016 Reading List. I think the title is just beautiful. As a writer and a person, I’ve always thrived on the everyday things, the normal lives of people, and the small miracles that keep us going. I’m not sure entirely if that’s what this book is about. I haven’t read much around it because I don’t want to spoil it and the blurb is ambiguous at best, but I’m excited to find out.

Author: whatadifferenceawordmakes

Book-lover, tea enthusiast and MA student

Leave a Reply

