WWW WEDNESDAY- 13th September 2017

EtheringtonHeaders- WWW WednesdayWWW is hosted by Taking on a World of Words. Each Wednesday book enthusiasts share their reads by answering three questions:

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you’ll read next?

It’s been a few weeks since I took part in WWW Wednesday, so here is a run down of what I’ve read in the last few weeks.

What are you currently reading?DSC_0566

I’m about to start Alwyn Hamilton’s Rebel of the Sands. I’ve been trying to read a mix of things now that I’ve finally finished my degree and I’ve had this book waiting to be read since May. I’m expecting all sorts of fantastical adventures.

What did you recently finish reading?

DSC_0736Since my last WWW post I’ve finished three books. The first was The Power by Naomi Alderman, which if I’m honest, completely blew me away. It deals with so many complex ideas about gender stereotypes, history, power and warfare. I can see why it won the Baileys Prize. It was phenomenal.

DSC_0761

 

The second book was The Duff by Kody Keplinger which I sorry to say disappointed me. I knew that it would be different from the movie, but I wasn’t anticipating how much I would dislike Bianca and there were parts of the book that didn’t make sense to me.

 

DSC_0790The final book, which as of writing, I just finished is The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry. I have to be honest I did struggle to get into the first fifty pages or so but I’m so glad I did. Like The Power it handled a lot of interesting topics so skillfully and the idea of different truths was really interesting. I loved the different beliefs that coincided in the novel, and how what might seem reasonable to one person seemed illogical and unenlightened to another.

What do you think you’ll read next?

I’m not entirely sure. It could be any one of the poor, neglected books on my shelf, but I’m leaning towards either Days Without End by Sebastian Barry or Holding by Graham Norton.

What are you reading this week?

Author: Nicole @whatadifferenceawordmakes

Book-lover, tea enthusiast and MA student

10 thoughts on “WWW WEDNESDAY- 13th September 2017”

  1. I hope you enjoy Rebel of the Sands and Traitor to the Throne. I actually liked the second one more than the first, but I am always interested to hear others’ thoughts!

    Here’s my WWW post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

