WWW Wednesdays- 9th August 2017

WWW is hosted by Taking on a World of Words. Each Wednesday book enthusiasts share their reads by answering three questions:

IMG_1384-0

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you’ll read next?

I’ve been back in rainy, occasionally sunny Wales for a week, and done a placement at a publishers, which was more than a dream come true. So although I finished two books this week, I also read two manuscripts, of which I can say nothing because it’s top secret. Getting to read manuscripts has got to be one of my favourite things I’ve done so far this summer. I know, I’m a bookworm.

What are you currently reading?

I’m not reading anything as of this moment! I just finished reading History is All You Left Me, and I want to get my review notes straight before I barge into the next book and forgot all the points I was going to make. I know what I’m thinking of reading next though…

What did you recently finish reading?DSC_0695

I finished All That Man Is by David Szalay. I wasn’t going to write a review, but I think I might. I’m fickle like that. Although it’s a novel, it felt much more like a short story collection. It follows the lives of nine different men, starting off with a inter-railing teenager and ending with an elderly man recovering from surgery in Italy. A couple of the stories really stood out, particularly the last one.

DSC_0685As mentioned above, I also finished History is All You Left Me. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book where a main character has OCD before, and in all honesty I related to Griff’s compulsions so much. I’ve never really done anything about my obsessive counting, but I know it gets worse in times of stress and I can only imagine what grief can do. It was a moving YA novel.

What do you think you’ll read next?DSC_0650

I’m about 80% sure it will be A Darker Shade of Magic by V E Schwab because I’ve been wanting to read it for what feels like years, but if not I think it might be The Outsiders by S E Hinton.

 

What are you reading this week?

Author: Nicole @whatadifferenceawordmakes

Book-lover, tea enthusiast and MA student

6 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays- 9th August 2017”

Leave a Reply

