MISC: Top Ten Tuesday- 1st August 2017

toptentuesday2

 

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they post a different topic that one of their bloggers answers, and they invite others to join in either by posting their answers as a comment or by creating their own blog post.

Top Ten Tuesday is taking a break for a couple of weeks. I only started taking part in TTT a few months ago, so I thought in the meantime I’d look through some of the old topics. Luckily there are literally hundreds to choose from, so I have enough to keep me busy until it starts back up in August! This week I’m revisiting 10 Books I Picked Up on a Whim, so I’m going to share 10 books I impulsively bought that are on my TBR!

 

Rebel of the Sands and Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton

Rebel of the Sands (Rebel of the Sands, #1)Traitor to the Throne (Rebel of the Sands #2)

When I went to Hay Festival in May, Alwyn Hamilton was doing a talk on one of the days, and I think either it was the day before I got there, or I’d booked a different talk at the same time, but I missed it. Then I went in to the Festival Bookshop and they had signed copies of both books. So I snatched them up.

Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz

Magpie Murders

Charity shops are my weakness. There’s a great one in town that has so many books. I had already bought 20 books in Hay, and then I went in to Oxfam three days after and saw this hardback. I was interested in the premise beforehand but getting it for a bargain sealed the deal.

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Heartless

I keep saying how much I love re-tellings and then I never get round to actually reading them. I bought Heartless at the supermarket when I was supposed to be buying food. Oops.

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

Wuthering Heights

I already have an orange Penguin classic edition of this book, but I fell in love with this cover and I had to buy it. I’m hoping to finally read it when autumn kicks in.

A Boy’s Own Story by Edmund White

A Boy's Own Story: Picador Classic

This was another charity shop buy. If I’m honest, I can’t remember much of the premise but have had it on my TBR for a while, and I quite like the idea of going in without any expectations.

Cartes Postales by Victoria Hislop

Cartes Postales from Greece

I saw Victoria Hislop’s talk and reading at Hay. I wasn’t going to buy the book. Although I really enjoyed The Island, my mum is a much bigger fan. But the premise of these postcards turning up from a stranger, written for someone else, gripped me. Sadly I missed the signing because I didn’t figure out until halfway through the day where the signings were.

The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry

The Essex Serpent

I probably should have read this by now, but it was another supermarket steal. I like the cover and the myth surrounding the premise.

Holding Up The Universe by Jennifer Niven

Holding Up the Universe

I forgot I bought this book and only found it when I was looking for books for this post. How bad is that? I’d seen a lot of positive reviews about it a while ago and picked it up based on them. I can’t remember the plot summary of this one either.

How To Build a Girl by Caitlin Moran

How to Build a Girl

I picked up this book because it was a Caitlin Moran book and I have wanted to read something by her for ages. I was taken by surprise when I realised it was fiction, but I’m still eager to read it.

 

I think I might have to have a book reading day and try to get through some of these! What are your best and worst impulse buys?

Author: Nicole @whatadifferenceawordmakes

Book-lover, tea enthusiast and MA student

3 thoughts on “MISC: Top Ten Tuesday- 1st August 2017”

  1. Heartless is definitely worth reading! Though I’m glad I read it before I read Marissa Meyer’s The Lunar Chronicles.
    Heartless didn’t disappoint at all, but I feel like it would’ve if I had read it after reading TLC – so I’m thankful that I didn’t do that, haha.

    Hope you enjoy reading it as much as I did!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

