BOOKISH FINDS: Book Bundle

dsc_1077-2

DSC_0679

I think we all know the drill by now. When it comes to books, I can’t be stopped. It’s like unleashing a moth in a room filled with bright lights. My bank account might be singed but I still can’t help myself. I went online to specifically buy Joe Dunthorne’s Submarine and some other books for my uni work (it doesn’t count if it’s educational) and then once I’d ordered them, I realised I’d bought everything but Submarine. So I had to do another order and I got free delivery if I spent £10, so really it’s Amazon’s marketing team that are to blame.

Here’s what I bought:

Wild Abandon & Submarine by Joe Dunthorne

DSC_0683

I’ve watched the film of Submarine, and as someone who is Welsh and therefore is obligated to take pride in all things Welsh, I loved it and wanted to read the book. I’ve almost finished it and I love it. There are so many references that I relate to as being a Welsh teenager. Plus seeing someone use ‘cwtch’ and ‘tamping’ in a book made my week. I also bought his second book Wild Abandon, because it sounds just as good.

History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

DSC_0685

I’ve never read an Adam Silvera books, which makes me feel like I’ve been missing out. There is a lot of love for his novels in the book community, and I would love to be able to talk about his books. I keep avoiding reviews in case of spoilers. Also, isn’t the cover wonderful?

The First Person and Other Stories by Ali Smith

DSC_0689

I’m a short story buff, but I’ve never read any of Ali Smith’s shorter fiction. I loved The Accidental and quite like How To Be Both, so I’m interested to see what her short stories are like.

Close Range by Annie Proulx

DSC_0690

I read Brokeback Mountain last year and it blew me away. There was so much history in those sixty pages, so much going on beneath the surface. Close Range is the collection it originally comes from. So I’m hoping to discover some more heart-wrenching lives and stories.

All That Man Is by David Szalay

DSC_0695

All That Man Is was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize last year, and I’ve had my eye on it since then. It sounds like a hybrid between a novel and a short story collection, exploring the lives of different men in different places. I’m going to read it after I finish Submarine. I love the cover on this one too.

 

What books do you have your eye on this week?

(p.s you can follow me on Bloglovin or follow my new bookstagram!)

 

Author: Nicole @whatadifferenceawordmakes

Book-lover, tea enthusiast and MA student

Leave a Reply

