READING LISTS: 10 Books I’d Like to Re-read

dsc_1079-2

DSC_0655If you know my, you’ll know I very rarely re-read anything. I have a trusty copy of The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky that I open every now and again when I’m looking for comfort and Conversations with the Fat Girl by Liza Palmer when I need a boost, but other than that once I pick up a book I very rarely read it again. I’m not sure it its because I feel so far behind a lot of the time, I don’t always read books when they come out, or whether it’s just that once I’ve closed the cover I don’t feel the need to pick it up again, but re-reading is one of those things I very rarely do, like going to the gym and eating low-fat yogurt.

So, I had a think about the books I would re-read if I ever got round to it and surprisingly there were more YA books than I expected.

The Fearful by Keith Gray The Fearful

I picked this book up at random in a Waterstones when I was about 13, and I still remember parts of it vividly. It’s set in a small village, where a mythical monster like Nessie is rumoured to live. The main character is a boy whose families is charged with feeding the creature with roadkill collected at night. He’s torn between following the families history and making his own path. I loved the ambiguity of the novel. You never quite know if the monster exists through the book.

Avalon High by Meg CabotAvalon High

I am a huge lover of re-tellings and I used to be obsessed with King Arthur related tales. So Avalon High was the perfect YA book for me. I think I might have actually re-read it in the past. I loved that Meg Cabot took a role that is often shown in a certain light and transformed it into something powerful. Actually I just want to re-read all the Meg Cabot books because I was a huge fan of The Princess Diaries and All-American Girl too.

The Maximum Ride series by James PattersonThe Angel Experiment (Maximum Ride, #1)

I forgot about these books for a while, and then I went home and found them under my bed. I always wanted to have wings as a kid, like Angel from the X-Men and then I found out there was a whole fantasy series with scientifically modified avian-human hybrids. It’s actually quite a dark series, and I think I only got to the fourth book, but I loved Max.

The Bell Jar by Sylvia PlathThe Bell Jar

The Bell Jar was my first ever review on this blog. It sung to me. I think it’s the first book I read that I felt like ‘wow, writing’. I underlined all the lines I loved, which ended up being most of the book. I can’t really explain it but The Bell Jar snuck under my skin and it hasn’t ever left.

Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen FieldingBridget Jones's Diary (Bridget Jones, #1)

I watched Bridget Jones’s Baby the other day, and while I had Mixed Feelings it made me nostalgic for the first book. It’s just so wonderfully packed with optimism and humour and Bridget-ness. It’s a great summer read too which might have something to do with my craving for it.

Persuasion by Jane AustenPersuasion

I couldn’t do a re-reading post without mentioning my favourite. If there was a book I would pick to re-read, I wouldn’t find it hard to decide on which Jane Austen book it would be, but Persuasion just about makes it. There’s something about Persuasion that aches. It has a softer humour than Austen’s other novels, and the longing in it catches your breath.

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time by Mark Haddon

The Curious Incident of the Dog In the Night-time

My mum waved this book in my face when I was a teenager and I thought I was going to hate it, and then I started reading it. I don’t remember huge amounts about the book if I’m honest, except the scene in the police station where they try to take away his watch, but that’s mainly the reason why I want to re-read it.

Invisible Monsters by Chuck PalanuikInvisible Monsters

Did anyone else read this book because they were obsessed with Panic! At The Disco? No? Only me? Time To Dance was my favourite song on P!ATD’s first album and I found out it was inspired by Invisible Monsters and then bought the book. It was so much more than I was expecting. It introduced me to the art that is Palanuik’s writing. I’d love to go back to it one day.

If You Could See Me Now by Cecilia AhernIf You Could See Me Now

I am a sucker for books that are set in reality, but take-on a slightly surreal twist. I never had an imaginary friend as a child, but I loved the idea that there was an agency of them, real people only children could see. It was a really heart-warming and heart-breaking read. It hurt in a good way.

Daughters of Rome by Kate QuinnDaughters of Rome (The Empress of Rome, #2)

Another obsession for me is historical fiction set in Rome. I loved Mistress of Rome and then I went back and read Daughters of Rome which acts as a prequel. I liked that the four sisters were completely different, that they each had an individual journey through a politically explosive period. I’d love to revisit them again.

 

Do you re-read? Are there any books you’re excited to revisit or wish you had the time to?

 

 

 

Author: whatadifferenceawordmakes

Book-lover, tea enthusiast and MA student

1 thought on “READING LISTS: 10 Books I’d Like to Re-read”

  1. Like you I would very rarely re-read books but one of the (few) perks of getting older is that I now have many books I simply can’t remember! It’s great. There are of course some that are memorable, those that have ‘stayed with me’ but there are many more that I can now read as if for the first time. There is always the thought that at some point it will all come flooding back and sometimes it does but more often than not I get to the end without recall. Most I’ve had for 20 years or more so hopefully I’m allowed a little lapse now and again?

    Like

Leave a Reply

