BOOKISH FINDS: Darker Shades

dsc_1077-2

DSC_0644

Have I already bought a ridiculous amount of books in the last two months? Yes. Have I already filled up my next bookcase with things I haven’t read? Yes. Do I need anymore books? No. But I’ve embraced my fickle heart and decided that there are worse things I could splurge on. I will never be able to pass up a book, and I’m okay with that. My bank account may not be, but then, well, it doesn’t really get a say in it.

I’m super excited about the two new additions to my book pile. I’ve had my eye on them since the dawn of time, and waited so long to buy them that I missed the 2 for 3 offer at W H Smiths. I was a little devastated by that, but I bought them anyway.

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

DSC_0647

I’ve been slowly making my way through the Classics for a few years. At Christmas last year I finally got round to reading Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre and I loved it. It was the perfect winter read. My mother and father bought me an orange Penguin edition of Wuthering Heights last Christmas, but I’ve been a little scared of reading it. I’m not always careful with my books, and this one is twice my age. Then I came across this Vintage Classics edition and fell in love with it. I might keep it for Christmas and turn it into a tradition. Maybe next year I’ll read one of Anne Bronte’s novels!

A Darker Shade of Magic by V E Schwab

DSC_0650

This book keeps turning up on every single Top Ten Tuesday post about books I want to read. It was getting a bit silly really. There’s only so many times you can keep telling people ‘I really want to read it, but haven’t got round to it’ before you have to put your money where your mouth is, which is exactly what I did. I’ve still got a lot of dissertation reading to do, but as soon as September comes I am opening this book up and binging. I have high hopes!

Have you bought any new books this week?

 

Author: whatadifferenceawordmakes

Book-lover, tea enthusiast and MA student

Leave a Reply

