MISC: WWW Wednesday- 5th July 2017

Does anyone else feel like 2017 has gone ridiculously quick? Its sort of run past me and now I’ve got less than 2 months til my final deadline and it felt like I only started my course a minute ago. I feel like if I blink it will be Christmas already. Anyway, although time has been going worryingly quick my reading has been trudging along at a snail’s pace.

WWW is hosted by Taking on a World of Words. Each Wednesday book enthusiasts share their reads by answering three questions:

IMG_1384-0

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?DSC_0641

I’m a teeny tiny bit into Star-Shot by Mary-Ann Constantine. I haven’t read many books set in Wales, I think I can count how many on one hand probably. So it’s nice to read a book in a familiar setting. I’ve always loved Cardiff, which is where the story takes place. And I’ve been flexing my memory of Welsh words, because they do slip into the prose. It’s like being at home even though I’m in England, which is lovely (no offence, England). I’m not sure where its goig yet, but there’s mysterious patches of silence all over the city and multiple characters telling their stories.

DSC_0635I’ve read the first short story in Helen Simpson’s collection Yeah, Right, Get a Life. I loved Four Bare Legs in a Bed, so I imagine this will be just as satisfying a read.

What did you recently finish reading?DSC_0624

I thought I would finish reading A girl is a Half-formed Thing in a couple of days. It’s only 200 pages long. But the disjointed prose doesn’t make for easy reading, so it definitely slowed my pace. I liked the idea that the language reflects the girl’s inability to communicate and to form an identity. There was a lot of pain in those pages.

What do you think you’ll read next?

I don’t know. I’m thinking about squishing in some more short story collections before my deadline, so it will probably be one of those.

What are you reading this week?

Author: Nicole @whatadifferenceawordmakes

Book-lover, tea enthusiast and MA student

6 thoughts on “MISC: WWW Wednesday- 5th July 2017”

  1. Hmm. I’m afraid I haven’t heard of any of the books on your list this week but Starshot definitely sounds interesting. I am now of course racking my brain trying to think of other books set in Wales 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

