Misc: Top Ten Tuesday- 27th June 2017

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they post a different topic that one of their bloggers answers, and they invite others to join in either by posting their answers as a comment or by creating their own blog post.

This week is all about the best books you’ve read in 2017. So far I’ve read 32 books (I’m over halfway to my 50 book goal), which you might think makes it easy, because I have less books to choose from. But getting to 10 was actually quite challenging. I’ve read some great books so far in 2017, but not all of them would make it to the Top 10 by the end of the year.

The Girls by Emma Cline

26893819

I didn’t think The Girls would live up to the hype, but it did. I was completely drawn into this dark tale and the captivating hold these young women had on Evie.

Eileen by Ottessa Moshfegh

29779228

Eileen is an interesting narrator. She’s not someone you can find it in yourself to like but you do feel a conflicting sense of sympathy for her. The things that make her so repellant are exaggerations of the things we do ourselves. I was compelled by her.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

32613366

The Hate U Give is one of the few YA books I’ve read this year, and it shows just how powerful they can be. I don’t think I need to explain how important this book is.

Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson

23848559

Non-fiction and memoirs aren’t usually my jam, but Jenny Lawson charmed my socks off in this witty and honest reflection on mental health and raccoon rodeos.

Stet: An Editor’s Life by Diana Athill

930990

Diana Athill is so fascinating. Reading her memoirs of life as a publisher felt like sitting across from her drinking tea and warming my feet by the fire. She wrote Stet in her eighties, and she’s NINETY NINE now. What an amazing woman!

Room by Emma Donoghue

24968083

Room pulled on my heart strings like it was a harp. Emma Donoghue slips so easily into the mind of a little boy, whose world consists of four walls.

The Roanoke Girls by Amy Engel

33139200

I didn’t expect to like The Roanoke Girls as much as I did. Crime-related stories don’t usually grab me, but the dark family drama at the centre of the story and the hold Roanoke has over the girls pulled me in.

The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter

276750

Re-tellings of classic fairytales where the heroines take control of their own fate. Their dark, gothic and perfect.

Four Bare Legs in a Bed by Helen Simpson

680727

It wouldn’t be complete without some short story collections. Helen Simpson’s stories are funny, dark and often explore the constrictions placed on women.

Hall of Small Mammals by Thomas Pierce

22309576

Another great short story collection, filled with viral videos, resurrected pygmy mammoths and hot air balloons. What more could you want?

 

What are your favourite reads of 2017 so far? Are there any 2017 releases your excited to get your hands on?

 

 

 

 

 

Author: whatadifferenceawordmakes

Book-lover, tea enthusiast and MA student

11 thoughts on “Misc: Top Ten Tuesday- 27th June 2017”

  1. I couldn’t agree more about THUG! It made it to my TTT list as well. The only other one of these I’ve read is Furiously Happy. I listened to the audiobook, narrated by the author, and I was laughing myself to tears at certain points.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t really read a lot of YA contemporaries but all the hype about “The Hate U Give” made me give it a try – and I’m glad I read it because it was really good and I put it on my TTT list as well!

    I’ve been wanting to read “Room” for years, especially when the movie came out, but I still haven’t done it. I’m glad to see it on your list and it’s a good reminder for me to finally read it 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m always suspicious of the hype! I’ve been disappointed by a few books that way but THUG was definitely a nice surprise!

      I haven’t watched the movie yet. It was on TV when I was halfway through reading it – so I didn’t want to spoil it for myself! I hope you get a chance to pick it up soon! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

