MISC: 5 Reasons I’m Excited for Hay Festival

dsc_1210-3

DSC_0501.jpg

Hay Festival is just over a week away and it can’t come soon enough. I’ve been waiting to go since last year, but I left it too late to organise myself (as usual). So for Christmas, my wonderful parents agreed to take me for the opening weekend. My mother picked the short straw because she’s the one who has to accompany me and listen to my bibliophile rantings for three days trapped in an idyllic village, but I’m not sorry. So in anticipation of a dreamy weekend in booktopia, here are 5 things I’m looking forward to:

Authors

Authors almost seem like mythical creatures. I mean, they write stories for a living. Brilliant, wonderful stories that you can get lost in. Over the last couple of years doing my MA, I’ve started going to author readings and talks, and they never disappoint. Hearing them read from their own books is a unique experience, and their passion for their writing always gets me inspired.

Books

Hay-on-Wye is the book capital of the world. You might have picked up from my blog by now, that books are my obsession. Not only is it home to Hay Festival, it’s jam packed with bookshops, from secondhand to antique. I can’t wait to get my hands on them.

Food

I almost love food as much as I love books. Not quite, but nearly. I’m looking forward to all the locally-sourced goodness that the Festival promises. Ice-cream, souvlaki, cheese and veggie delights. My mouth is already watering at the prospect!

Welsh Scenery

Wales is my homeland, and there’s nothing like the Welsh countryside. We’re staying in a B&B outside of Hay, with views of the Brecon Beacons. I can’t wait to go back immerse myself in the scenery. It’s one of the most beautiful places on Earth.

Comedy

I went to my first stand up show this year. Daniel O’Doherty was hilarious. I never considered myself to be the sort of person who laughs out loud before, but I was in pieces. Dara O’Brian was performing at Hay Festival last year, and I was so sad I missed the opportunity to see him. He’s one of my favourite comedians ever. But this year there are so many great comedians again. I’ve booked tickets to see Andy Hamilton. So I’m pretty excited.

Is anyone else going to Hay Festival this year? What are you looking forward to?

Author: Nicole @whatadifferenceawordmakes

Book-lover, tea enthusiast and MA student

Leave a Reply

