BOOKISH FINDS: Online Spree

dsc_1077-2

DSC_0503

Again you might ask incredibly. Yes again. I bought books again. I was only going to buy two but, well, online websites give you free postage if you spend so much. They’re sneaky like that. I have so many books that I want to read at this point that I have to pick them at random, and then even when they arrive I have them hidden away under the bed for a few months of years before I actually read them. Such is the life of a bibliophile. So here are the new additions to my under the bed book collection:

DSC_0509.jpgA Manual for Cleaning Women by Lucia Berlin

I am all for short stories. I find them absolutely glorious. I’ve never read Lucia Berlin’s work but I read the first few stories and I am already in love with her prose.The familial relationships are complex, the tensions between mothers and daughters, daughters and fathers are palpable. The stories are part fiction, part autobiographical and so much goes on beneath the surface. I’m going to take my time with this one.

Simon Vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

So I may have already read this book before I even started writing this post. I don’t know if it even made it out of the packaging before I started reading it. Needless to say I enjoyed it. Simon’s funny and sincere. He handles a bad situation as well as he can, and his support network aren’t always perfect but they’re there for him.

DSC_0506Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson

May is Mental Health Awareness month, and it seemed like the perfect time to pick up Jenny Lawson’s book. I’ve heard so many brilliant things about it, and reading the opening pages I can see why. Lawson is courageously funny and I think her ‘furiously happy’ attitude is one we should all adopt.

Yes Please by Amy Poehler

I love her. I want to be her best friend. I fell in love with her as Lesley Knope in Parks and Recreation. I don’t think I can ever get enough Amy Poehler. I don’t usually read that many autobiographies but I’m so excited to read hers!

Author: whatadifferenceawordmakes

Book-lover, tea enthusiast and MA student

2 thoughts on “BOOKISH FINDS: Online Spree”

Leave a Reply

