MISC: WWW Wednesdays- 10th May 2017

Hello, hello. I’ve missed taking part in WWW Wednesdays the last few weeks. I was a little unprepared for the stress of my last essay. I couldn’t pick a topic so for two weeks I tried to write four different essays until I decided which one was better. But it’s done! Just 15,000 words stand between me and my MA! Hurray! I won’t bombard you with all the reading I’ve done since my last WWW post, I’ll just give you the highlights!

WWW is hosted by Taking on a World of Words. Each Wednesday book enthusiasts share their reads by answering three questions:

IMG_1384-0

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?DSC_0494

I’m a third into The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. After hearing so much about this book I knew I had to read it, and I’m glad I am. The story deals with how Starr’s life is derailed after her friend Khalil is shot in front of her by a police officer. Khalil was unarmed but that doesn’t seem to matter to the police. Unfortunately these shootings continue to happen in real life, and Thomas’ book addresses the everyday racism that leads them.

DSC_0496I’m also reading Gravitas by Caroline Goyder. It’s not something I would usually read but I’m trying to be open-minded about books I wouldn’t usually consider. I’m reading it little by little, so it will take me a while, but I’m interested to see if I can pick up any useful tips on how to have more gravitas.

What did you recently finish reading?dsc_01961

I finally read Caraval, and my review is up! It was a nice, easy read and a nice change of pace from the other books I’ve been reading. It was a world I enjoyed living in for a while.

 

DSC_0448I read Hall of Small Mammals, the short story collection by Thomas Pierce. Although there weren’t as many animals as I was promised I did really enjoy the collection, particularly Shirley Temple Three about a cloned pygmy mammoth and Videos of People Falling Down which was an interesting twist on our fascination with viral videos.

DSC_0474The Beautiful Dead by Belinda Bauer. It’s not something I would usually read, but I wanted to give it a go. I did enjoy the first fifty pages but it all got a bit too much for me. I really didn’t like the backstory given to the minor characters.

 

roanokeThe last book I read was The Roanoke Girls. I’ve got a review coming up next week, but it was honestly a really good book. I thought about it when I wasn’t reading it, and looked forward to picking it up again, which might sound weird considering the subject matter, but I found it intriguing.

What do you think you’ll read next?DSC_0478

Either The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry or May We Be Forgiven by A. M. Homes. I have just ordered four books from Amazon though (not sorry) so who knows? I do need to read some short stories for uni so they might make another appearance.

What are you reading this week?

 

 

Author: Nicole @whatadifferenceawordmakes

Book-lover, tea enthusiast and MA student

11 thoughts on “MISC: WWW Wednesdays- 10th May 2017”

  1. I’ve got The Hate U Give on my Kindle and I really want to pick it up soon. I like the sound of Hall of Small Mammals – the people falling down in videos story makes me think of the Netflix series Black Mirror, which takes similar human fascinations and turns them darker.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

