MISC: Top Ten Tuesday – 9th May 2017

toptentuesday2

My first foray into the uncharted territories of Top Ten Tuesday. I’ve seen the meme cropping up on the blogs I follow, and the weekly posts always make me think about my relationship with the books I’ve read or want to read. Now that I’m slightly better at pretending to be savvy about the blogosphere I thought I’d give it a go.

Firstly, Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they post a different topic that one of their bloggers answers, and they invite others to join in either by posting their answers as a comment or by creating their own blog post.

This week’s topic is: Top Ten Things On My Reading Wishlist (if you could make authors write about these things you would. Could be a specific type of character, an issue tackled, a time period, a certain plot, etc.)

DSC_0489

1. Books set in Wales

There are some out there and shamefully I haven’t read many of them (yet). Wales is my homeland, and we may be tiny but we’re fierce. There’s a rich history waiting to be unleashed.

2. Platonic friendships

Radio Silence was a breath of fresh air. A teenage boy meets a teenage girl and they become supportive best friends? That’s a thing? Yes, yes it is. Friendships play such an important role and sometimes they get side-lined for romantic relationships. They desrve to be celebrated!

3. Books set in the 60s

I don’t know what it is, but I find the sixties so alluring. Maybe it’s the music, the psychedelic clothing and the carefree spirit (I’m definitely romanticising) but I want more 60s fiction.

4. Social media

YA books are doing a pretty good job of incorporating social media into their stories (I’m looking at you again Radio Silence), but other genres are falling a little behind. I want a story that address the impact social media has on adults as well.

5. Dyslexia

It might be extremely specific, but I’ve never read a book where a character was dyslexic. When it is mentioned it’s usually fleeting. I know people who have struggled with dyslexia- it wasn’t really recognised all that much when I was in school- and I think they would have appreciated a character who went through the same frustrations they went through.

6. A book set in a TV studio

If there is actually a book set in a TV studio please let me know. I don’t know why but this immediately came into my head when I thought of tropes. I think watching Jane the Virgin might have influenced this choice.

7. Twins

To be more specific, twins who aren’t creepy, who aren’t opposites. I want to read a story about twins who have a healthy relationship. Twins where being a twin is almost irrelevant. I have a twin brother and he’s one of my closest friends. It would be nice to see that represented more in books.

8. Books about real life authors

I read The Hours by Michael Cunningham and I thought his interpretation of Virginia Woolf and her last days was really moving. Authors are interesting people, with stories of their own. I’d like to see more authors tackling tales about their predecessors.

9. Historical fiction/fantasy crossovers

I want to read a book about a vampire in the 70s, or a witch in the 1920s. Again, if there are any out there please tell me. I would love to devour them. The fantasy books I’ve read tend to have their own history, or have contemporary or future settings, but I’d love to see more historical fantasy.

10. Characters who don’t know what they’re doing

There’s nothing more comforting than knowing you and a character are in the same boat. I’m 23, and a lot of the time I’m struggle to figure what I’m going to eat for dinner. Yesterday I had granola for my main meal. I know for the sake of plot characters need to be heading somewhere, but I want a character who is as equally hopeless as me. Like Eileen, except not Eileen.

 

What books would you like to see more of? What books have you had enough of? Have you read a book set in the 70s about a vampire’s search for purpose? Let me know!

Author: Nicole @whatadifferenceawordmakes

Book-lover, tea enthusiast and MA student

25 thoughts on “MISC: Top Ten Tuesday – 9th May 2017”

  1. The Night Ocean is kind of a book about an author?? It’s about a guy who becomes obsessed my H P Lovecraft. I haven’t read it yet but I can imagine it’s very focused on Lovecraft… Idk if that’s the kind of thing you meant tho!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great list! I’m definitely also in great need for more platonic friendships in books! And I haven’t read Radio Silence yet, which means I REALLY need to pick it up ASAP πŸ™‚ And haha, yes, I so would love a book where the main character is as clueless and hopeless at adulting as I am πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Twins for sure! I feel like every time there are twins they’re complete opposites. And sure, I guess some twins are. But my mom and my aunt are identical twins. Yeah, they have some different interests, but they also are similar in a LOT of ways. And one of my best friends from college has a twin and again, they’re different, but also a lot alike! Also platonic male/female friendships!!! We need more of these. I have tons of guy friends I’ve never been romantically interested in. Great list. (:

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I pretty much love this list. Yes to more platonic friendships, yes to more books about social media, yes to more dyslexic character and heck yes to more character who don’t know what they are doing. because that is so freaking relatable to me and I need more characters like that.

    my ttt

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great list, for a sixties-set book you could try Funny Girl by Nick Hornby? It’s about a girl from Blackpool who moves to London and ends up starring in her own sitcom, there’s lots about TV comedy and writing, as well as being young and not really knowing what you’re doing with yourself. Fits a few criteria! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

