BOOKISH FINDS: Animals & Absence

dsc_1077-2

DSC_0448

‘Where have you been?’ no one actually asked, but I shall tell you anyway! Easter and summer might mean the holidays, but they also mean final university deadlines. The big ones. The last few weeks I’ve spent desperately scrambling a story together and today is the day that I handed it in, which means freedom for a few days before I start frantically compiling an essay, and then you know, it just a short 15,000 words until I’m officially done. But, in my writer’s panic I let the blog slide. So I’m using these few days of respite to write up some lovely posts ahead of time, so I won’t go missing for too long again!

It also means I have a little time to binge on books again. Luckily Hall of Small Animals by Thomas Pierce arrived this week, so I won’t be short of things to read! I came across the short story collection on Whitney’s Ten New Additions to my TBR Pile over on the wonderful Imaginary Book Club and was just instantly drawn to the weirdness of the cover. The blurb sounds as if the ordinary and the absurd blend together in the collection, and I love stories that combine the two. So I’m looking forward to it!

Did you read anything interesting while I was away?

 

Author: whatadifferenceawordmakes

Book-lover, tea enthusiast and MA student

6 thoughts on “BOOKISH FINDS: Animals & Absence”

  1. I like the sound of that Hall of Small Mammals. I love short stories and Peter Carey is one of my favourite authors ever. (I actually review short stories for a US company so come across a lot of them – some good, some so abysmal it makes you laugh.)

    I’m going to have to check it out so thanks for the recommendation! Good luck with the dissertation, what’s the subject?

    Like

    1. Apparently there’s a resurrected mammoth and a hot air balloon pilot. What more could you want from a short story collection? I haven’t read Peter Carey- do you have any recommendations?

      I’m doing a creative writing MA so its actually a 15,000 words creative piece, and suprise suprise, I’m writing a collection of short stories!

      Like

      1. Haha an animal hot air balloon pilot sounds hilarious. I would recommend going straight for Peter Carey’s Collected Stories, which is a compilation of two short story books. Two stories in particular seem right up this animal street: Life & Death in the South Side Pavilion and Exotic Pleasures.

        That sounds great for the dissertation. You could really branch out on genres and experiment, throwing in a one hundred word piece of flash fiction (so hard to write but they are amazing to see done well – I wrote one but not sure how great it is) or longer pieces. Very best of luck with them!

        Like

Leave a Reply

