Desert Island Discs blog tag

desert island discs

Thank you to BookBum for not only tagging me in the Desert Island Discs blog tag but creating it as well! I don’t talk about music much on my blog but it is always in the background, whether I’m writing posts or reading. So it’s nice to get a chance to share some of the music I love with you all!

Here’s how it works…

  • Link back to BookBum’s original post! (Remember to do this via pingback)
  • Thank the person(s) who tagged you… show some love!
  • Come up with your answers
  • Then tag others to keep the tag going!

Premise of Desert Island Discs…

You are cast away onto a remote island:

  • You can bring 5 albums, what are they?
  • You can bring ONE book (not including The Bible (or other appropriate religious texts) or The Complete Works of Shakespeare, as they are already provided and NO SERIES), what ONE book is it?
  • You can have one luxury item (it has to be inanimate and can’t help you escape the island), what is it?

My answers:

The five albums I would take:

An Awesome Wave by Alt-J Image result

This album is the soundtrack to most of my long train journeys. I like to listen to it while staring wistfully at the countryside. I actually bought the album for my sister in the dark days when I didn’t actually like the band, and then I downloaded it on my iPod a few years ago and couldn’t believe I hadn’t listened to it more.

Favourite song: Bloodflood

 

A Fever You Can’t Sweat Out by Panic! At The DiscoImage result

Because 14-year-old me would never forgive me if I didn’t. I was such a huge P!ATD mega fan back in the day, and although I don’t listen to this album as often anymore I still can’t stop myself from singin along.

 

Favourite song: Time To Dance

 

The Queen is Dead by The SmithsImage result

I had a music teacher who once said my iPod was the most depressing thing he’d ever come across. I took that as a compliment even though I don’t think it was intended that way. Anyway Morrisey’s vocals and the lyrics have always made me want to sing along. It was The Perks of Being a Wallflower that made me listen to The Smiths in the first place, for which I am eternally grateful to Charlie.

Favourite song: There Is A Light That Never Goes Out

 

Bang by Empires Image result for empires bang

I don’t think this band get half as much love as they deserve. There first album Howl was flawless as is Bang. Sadly I lost my digital copy of Howl and it’s no longer on iTunes, but I still have Bang. Sean’s vocals are perfect.

Favourite song: Voodooized

 

 

To Lose My Life by White LiesImage result

I don’t feel like I’ve put together a particularly upbeat collection of music, which I probably should have thought about considering these would be the only albums I’d have access to, but I couldn’t skip out on White Lies. I wasn’t a huge fan of Ritual but To Lose My Life and Big TV are albums I’ve listened to compulsively. Another great band with distinctive vocals.

Favourite song: EST


 

The one book I would take:

The Perks of Being a WallflowerThe Perks of Being a Wallflower
by Stephen Chbosky

Sorry, sorry, everyone must be sick to death of me bring up this book again and again BUT it is such an important book to me. I don’t tend to re-read but I’ve re-read Perks hundreds of times, and it always hits me with emotion like it’s the first time. I don’t think I’ll ever find a fictional character who I care about quite like Charlie.


 

The one luxury item I would take:

My sketchbooks and pencils. I haven’t done any drawing in forever, not since I graduated from my Fine Art degree. So, if I had to spend some time alone on a desert island, I’d definitely like to brush up on my skills. I’m so rusty now!

Author: whatadifferenceawordmakes

Book-lover, tea enthusiast and MA student

6 thoughts on “Desert Island Discs blog tag”

    1. No problem! Another P!ATD fan, yay!

      (also on another note, was the formatting of this post as horrific for you as it was for me when I came on earlier? It seemed fine on my phone and then it was all smushed on my computer. I’ve gotten rid of the Youtube clips so I’m hoping that’s fixed the problem!)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

