BOOKISH FINDS: Fantasy Fiction

dsc_1077-2

DSC_0219My grandmother is one of those rare creatures that doesn’t like fantasy fiction. She watched the Harry Potter films under duress and although she did develop a soft spot for Dobby (which she pronounces Doh-bee) she couldn’t get along with ‘all that flying broomstick nonsense’. Not a woman easily convinced, I knew I wouldn’t be able to change her mind. So I let it slide.

Then when I started my MA course, my own love of fantasy started to slip. It wasn’t something I chose to do consciously, but there is an expectation when you’re on the course that you read things similar to what you write in order to learn from them. And although I went in thinking I was going to write a sci-fi fantasy novel, I found that I was acually the writer of literary short stories. So my love of other genres sort of fell by the way side for a while. I’ve read a lot of brilliant literary fictions, and I’ve come across some talented short story writers, but I don’t want to miss out on the other genres out their that I also enjoyed.

And then, as if by magic, I went on a massive splurge of fantasy books last month. It started out with buying Caraval for the Stephanie Garber event at Waterstones, and next thing I knew I had The Wrath & the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh, Heartless by Marissa Meyer and the Fantastic Beast & Where To Find Them screenplay. Oops.

DSC_0221

I can’t bring myself to feel too sorry for my bank balance though. I’m looking forward to squeezing these reads in between my uni reading!

Author: Nicole @whatadifferenceawordmakes

Book-lover, tea enthusiast and MA student

2 thoughts on “BOOKISH FINDS: Fantasy Fiction”

    1. Thank you! If I’m honest, that did have something to do with why I bought it. I try not to be pulled in by the cover, but I’m weak. I think I have to be in the right mood for fantasy and mix in other things in between. But I’m looking forward to getting into some new ones!

      Like

Leave a Reply

