WWW WEDNESDAYS: 1st February 2017

How is it February already? Where did January go? I’m slightl scared by the speed 2017 is trying to go at. I had a little bit of a reading slump this week (more a slump in general) but I managed to finish at least one book. Hurray!

WWW is hosted by Taking on the World of Words. Each Wednesday book enthusiasts share their read by answering three questions:

IMG_1384-0

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?dsc_0169

I’m currently reading Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff. I’ve had a bit of a slow reading week. I think the New Year energy I had has reached a slump but I’m determined to power through. I did find it hard to get into the first fifty pages, but now that I’m getting into it I’m actually enjoying it. There’s something very lyrical about the prose- everything feels so visual.

dsc_0172What did you recently finish reading?

Radio Silence by Alice Oseman. It offered up an interesting mix of characters with diverse backgrounds, indentities and personalities. The discussion about sexuality was frank but not the focus of the novel. The relationship between the two main characters is platonic but that doesn’t lessen the story in any way. They are individuals in their own right and I think that’s what makes them so believable.

What do you think you’ll read next?dsc_01761

I’ve been meaning to read Eileen by Ottessa Moshfegh ever since I went to a Man Booker event where she read from the first few pages and I was instantly sold. I’ve had it waiting to be read for a while so once I’m finished with Fates and Furies I’ll be straight on it.

What are you reading this week?

Author: whatadifferenceawordmakes

Book-lover, tea enthusiast and MA student

10 thoughts on “WWW WEDNESDAYS: 1st February 2017”

  1. I found Fates and Furies a bit hard to get into as well, so it’s good to see it’s not just me. I think I liked the second part better than the first. Happy reading and thanks for visiting my blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

