WWW WEDNESDAYS: 25th January 2017

I can’t believe it’s already been a week. 2017 is trying to fly past me. Some of my new year goals are getting harder to keep up with, we all know the struggle towards the end of January where you want to gorge on chocolate and turn your bed into a fortress that you never leave. Right? That being said, my reading has been pretty good this week. So I’m not doing too bad.

WWW is hosted by Taking on the World of Words. Each Wednesday book enthusiasts share their read by answering three questions:

IMG_1384-0

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

dsc_0172

I’m about three quarters of the way through Radio Silence by Alice Oseman which I picked up randomly at the library this week. It’s bringing up a lot of interesting memories for me about being in school. I was one of those high achievers and I can sympathise with Frances- you do get pushed into boxes in school and it can be  hard to figure out if you’re the person everyone’s saying you are. It’s also the first time I’ve read a YA book where the central relationship is completely platonic.

What did you recently finish reading?

 

dsc_01701

I actually finished two books (go me): The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter and Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn. The Bloody Chamber was all the gothic goodness I hoped it would be, but there’s also a lot of symbolism and layers that I hadn’t counted on. My feelings for Sharp Objects though, I don’t think I can articulate it succinctly enough in one paragraph. The murder investigation which was the most interesting part seemed to fall into the background of the protagonist’s life problems, and the big plot twist wasn’t really a big plot twist because. I’m both dreading and looking forward to writing my review.

What do you think you’ll read next?dsc_0169

Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff. It’s on my 2017 Reading List and I borrowed it from the library so that’s two reasons to read it. Also I’ve already talked about the cover in an earlier post, but the cover!

 

 

dsc_01531

What are you guys reading this week?

 

Author: Nicole @whatadifferenceawordmakes

Book-lover, tea enthusiast and MA student

8 thoughts on “WWW WEDNESDAYS: 25th January 2017”

  1. I read Sharp Objects a while ago. In fact, I just looked up my review on Goodreads, and I read it in 2008! But I remember how strangely riveting it was….Like the other books I’ve read by this author, I don’t leave the story with a good feeling.

    I have been eyeing Fates and Furies, too, but haven’t yet picked it up. Enjoy!

    Here’s MY WWW POST

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s definitely one that makes you want to read on. It’s interesting when books create that sense of unease in you. I haven’t read any of her other book as yet!

      I’m off to a slow start with Fates & Furies- it’s got an interesting style to the prose though!

      Like

    1. Yes, that’s exactly what I thought! I felt like we were set up for the big reveal so much that I wasn’t that shocked when it happened. Radio Silence was a refreshing read. I liked that the central characters relationship wasn’t clouded with romance. Both characters felt equally real rather than one just being their as a love interest!

      Like

Leave a Reply

