BOOKISH FINDS: The Waiting Game

DSC_1077

 

dsc_0131

I think we all know the drill by now: I enforced a strict no book buying rule on myself because its become an addiction and then argued to myself that it didn’t really count if they were from a charity shop because they were a bargain. In my defence, I probably wouldn’t have even gone into the shop if my friend hadn’t been late to lunch. So this one’s entirely on her (thank you for being late, thank you, thank you).

It turns out waiting for a friend can lead you to surprising discoveries. Here’s what I picked up:

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

I’ve wanted to read this books forever. I bought it for a friend on her birthday last year. We didn’t see each other regularly so it sat on my shelf for a good five months, and every morning I saw its spine and was tempted to just take a peak. I managed to hold off and we met up just before my resolve crumbled so I didn’t get a chance to read it. Then voila, there it was on the charity shop’s shelf and I knew I had to have it. I hope it was worth the wait.

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

I’ve worked my way through a few of Rowell’s novels in the last few years and they haven’t disappointed me yet. I fell for her writing a few years back after reading Attachments which will always be my favourite and this year I seem to have made good progress working through her catalogue. Eleanor & Park has been on my wishlist for a while and I’m interested to see how it measures up to her other novels.

The Accidental by Ali Smith

I’ve wanted to read more of Smith’s work since finishing How To Be Both last year. I’ve come across The Accidental a few times online and pegged it as a potential read but hadn’t gotten around to buying it. For some reason the blurb always reminds me of American Beauty which is weird because I’ve never actually seen the film. I don’t know. It sounds like a suspenseful read and I’m excited to get stuck in.

Author: Nicole @whatadifferenceawordmakes

Book-lover, tea enthusiast and MA student

Leave a Reply

