BOOKISH FINDS: Birthday Books

dsc_1077

dsc_0114

It’s my birthday and I’ll buy books if I want to. Today, I’m no longer feeling 22. I am officially 23 which sounds alarmingly adult since I still feel emotionally and mentally 18 most of the time. Weirdly, it’s the first time since I was 18 that my brother and I will actually be in the same room on our birthday. I’m used to hogging the limelight after four birthdays apart but I suppose I can share it just this once.

My family are all converging here this evening, but before then I thought I’d share my nout quite presents. My mother kindly gave me some money last month that was to buy something special for my birthday. I was good and bought a geometric skirt from Monki but then I did what any book addict would do and spent the rest on books. Here’s what I got:

Lady Chatterley’s Lover by D.H.Lawrence

To this day, my grandother can’t mention Lady Chatterley’s Lover without lowering her voice. I never considered reading it until recently. I always thought what a flash of ankle would be scandalous to a 1940s schoolgirl, and that it was the taboo of the book that made it exciting rather than the book itself. But then I watched the BBC adaption last year and I realised I’d been completely wrong. I wanted the edition illustrated by Lucy McLauchlan specifically. It’s got such a beautiful cover.

Captive Prince by C. S. Pascat

I’ve heard a lot of hype about the Captive Prince trilogy and I haven’t read a good historical novel in a while. The premise reminds me something of Mistress of Rome by Kate Quinn and I absolutely devoured that book. I’m hoping it will be an equally compelling read.

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

I watched Season 1 of Outlander and was completely blown away. I had my doubts at first; a 1940s military nurse gets sent back to the 1700s when holidaying with her husband in Scotland? It sounded a bit far-fetched even for me. Except I watched episode one and instantly converted. I can’t wait to see how Jaime and Claire’s relationship compares on paper. I’ve honestly been dying to read it for months!

 

 

Author: Nicole @whatadifferenceawordmakes

Book-lover, tea enthusiast and MA student

Leave a Reply

