READING LISTS: Summer Reads

DSC_1079

DSC_1405

Summer has been threatening to arrive for a while now. The sun has made a few fleeting appearances in between the rain and the clouds. But August is just around the corner and as I’m soon to be jetting off I thought I’d share the books I’ve chosen to take along with me.

  1. The Hours by Michael Cunningham
  2. The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton
  3. The Last Girlfriend on Earth and other love stories by Simon Rich
  4. Jacob’s Folly by Rebecca Miller
  5. The Help by Kathryn Stockett

The Hours by Michael Cunningham

DSC_1407

I bought this book a couple of weeks ago after having it on my reading list some time ago. It links together the narratives of three women from different moments in time who are affected by Virginia Woolf’s novel Mrs. Dalloway: Virginia Woolf herself, a wife in 1949, and a woman in 2001. I’m excited to see how these very different women are connected.

The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

DSC_1409

The Miniaturist was recommended to me by my tutor when I started my creative writing course. I bought it in November, but like with many things, I haven’t gotten around to actually reading it. One of my favourite things about going on holiday is that you can catch up on the things you never seem to have the time for.  It’s a book that had a lot of positive reviews when it was released and my sister enjoyed it, so I’m expecting it to be a captivating read.

 

The Last Girlfriend on Earth and other love stories by Simon Rich

DSC_1410

Admittedly, I haven’t heard anything about this book. I picked it out at Sainsbury’s discount section a month or two ago. I have a longstanding romance with short story collections and this one sounds quirky and entertaining. I loved Daniel Handler’s Adverbs which offered an unconventional insight into love and I’m hoping this will be an equally good read.

Jacob’s Folly by Rebecca Miller

DSC_1411

I bought Jacob’s Folly the same time as Simon Rich’s short story collection. The book is set in eighteenth-century Paris and twenty-first century America. I have no idea what to expect, but I’m looking forward to finding out.

The Help By Kathryn Stockett

DSC_1412

I saw the film adaption of The Help last year and it completely succeeded my expectations. I laughed so much and I felt for the characters and the grace and humour they showed when faced with animosity and prejudice. I’m excited to get a more in depth in sight into these wonderful characters and their stories.

 

Author: Nicole @whatadifferenceawordmakes

Book-lover, tea enthusiast and MA student

Leave a Reply

