MISC: Summer Arts Market

DSC_1210 (2)DSC_1403

The Summer Arts Market is held at St. George’s Hall in Liverpool, a really beautiful building opposite the Walker Gallery and Central Library (two other beautiful buildings). The event is organised by Open Culture, who also host a Christmas Arts Market as well, in support of local artists and makers. I went along to the arts market in December and got a collection of wooden coasters printed with otters in teacups, polar bears drinking champagne and foxes in waistcoats.

I might have a slight obsession with illustrated animals, particularly the woodland variety. And coasters. Anyway, I went along to the Summer Arts Market on 26th June. It seemed a lot bigger than the Christmas market. I think I floated around in art-induced joy a few times before I actually had the attention span needed to really appreciate what was on offer.

It seemed inevitable that I would end up buying more animal illustrated goodies. Choosing one of Manchester-based illustrator Charlotte Hicks‘ prints was very close to torture. I was torn between the badger and hedgehog before finally settling on the stag. The botanical details and the intricate markings of the fur are amazing. She was a really lovely lady to talk too.

Then I bought another coaster- not just because of my animal/coaster obsession but because Dyfal Donc had somehow managed to make Welsh cool. Whenever I stumble across anything or anyone Welsh in England I become overwhelmingly patriotic. Even though my Welsh is miserable since leaving school I still knew enough, and it was lovely to see familiar phrases. I’m not actually a huge fan of coffee but I had to get the owl.

The Teapugs Popcorn Tea was aactually a surprise gift from my sister- because she knows tea is the quickest way to gain my undying love and affection. I’ve actually been eyeing this tea up for a while so I’m excited to see if it lives up to my expectations!

Author: whatadifferenceawordmakes

Book-lover, tea enthusiast and MA student

Leave a Reply

