10 Film Adaptions I’ve Watched Without Reading the Book

DSC_1210 (2)

It is a truth universally acknowledged that all true literary-lovers should read the book before watching the film. Not to do so is a crime. But sometimes temptation wins out, and your friends are all going to watch the adaption on the opening day and ‘I haven’t read the book yet’ sounds like a poor excuse not to go. It happens. It happens more than I will ever willingly admit. So, here are the 10 films I watched before reading the books. I’ll let you in on an even more shameful secret: I still haven’t read them yet!

  1. The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks
  2. The Devil Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger
  3. The Help by Katherine Stockett
  4. Chocolat by Joanne Harris
  5. Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer
  6. Interview with the Vampire by Anne Rice
  7. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  8. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  9. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
  10. If I Stay by Gayle Forman

 

What film adaptions have you seen before reading the books?

Author: Nicole @whatadifferenceawordmakes

Book-lover, tea enthusiast and MA student

2 thoughts on “10 Film Adaptions I’ve Watched Without Reading the Book”

  1. So true! It’s interesting whichever way round you do it, book – film or film -book. Some films I’ve enjoyed but not the book and the other way around. You must read The Help however, it really is a beautifully written book. The film of The Time Travellers Wife I enjoyed but just couldn’t get on with the book. One that stands out for me as being equally good on page or screen is Cold Mountain. Now where is that book? Or do I mean DVD……

    Like

    1. That is very true! I’ve been meaning to read The Help for a while- the film was brilliant but I’ve heard the book is amazing! The Time Travellers Wife and Cold Mountain are two others I should add to my list of film adaptions I’ve seen without reading the books!

      Like

Leave a Reply

