BOOKISH FINDS: Literary Things

DSC_1077

DSC_1127 (2)

I was doing so well, really well actually. I almost got the number of books I had bought but hadn’t read under a two digit figure (not including the library books I loaned) and I went and ruined it all with a trip to my trusty local Oxfam shop. The best (and the worst) thing about going to charity shops is that you end up finding things you hadn’t known you wanted. It’s a great way to discover a new book or author. Maybe thats why I find it physically impossible to stop myself from stepping inside once I’m on the right street. Here are my buys:

  • Brokeback Mountain by Annie Proulx
  • Going the Distance edited by Alan Beard
  • Blaming by Elizabeth Taylor
  • The Oxford Book of Short Stories by V. S. Pritchett
  • How to be a Dragonfly by Patricia Debney
  • The Floating Man by Katherine Towers

Brokeback Mountain by Annie Proulx

I feel a little ashamed that up until recently I hadn’t realised that the film was based on Annie Proulx’s short story. My friend bought me the DVD for Christmas one year when I was still in school and I snuck it up to my bedroom, worried in case my parents thought it was too old for me. I watched it straight away. It was one of the first films I watched that wasn’t stuffed full of action and for the first twenty minutes I was bored, but at the end I was undoubtedly moved. I don’t think I cried, but it was touch and go.

The short story has been recommened to be a few times, to help with my own writing, and there it was on a shelf. I beginning to think this charity shop has a magical ability to make books I’ve had a notion for reading magically appear…

Going the Distance edited by Alan Beard

Admittedly, I don’t know much about this book, only that it’s an anthology of short stories by British writers, and I’m becoming slightly obsessed with short stories as a form. Anthologies are a great way to discover up and coming authors and to see how versatile a form short story writing is. I’m looking forward to getting my teeth in, eventually.

Blaming by Elizabeth Taylor

Elizabeth Taylor was recommended to me over a year ago because of her detailed prose. I read In A Summer Season about six or seven months ago, and I was pulled into the intoxicating tone. It’s not a book that relies on pllot, but the writing style for me mimicked the listlessness of summer. Hopefully Blaming will be just as much of a treat.

The Oxford Book of Short Stories by V. S. Pritchett

I don’t know much about V. S. Pritchett, only that he was a British prolific short story writer and literary critic, interested in ordinary life, but I’m hoping to change that by reading this book.

How to be a Dragonfly by Patricia Debney and The Floating Man by Katherine Towers

I haven’t heard of either poets before, but then, I haven’t heard of many poets at all. I am a complete novice in this area. I picked up Debney’s collection because of the unusual form. I hadn’t come across prose poetry until I started my MA, but here is a book completely dedicated to these poems. I’m hoping to learn a great deal from them both.

Author: Nicole @whatadifferenceawordmakes

Book-lover, tea enthusiast and MA student

2 thoughts on “BOOKISH FINDS: Literary Things”

  1. If you liked the Annie Proulx story, you should consider her three volumes of Wyoming short stories, from which ‘Brokeback Mountain’ was taken. That story gained all the notoriety but it is only average compared to some of her others. Her first collection of stories, ‘Heart Songs’ I highly recommend as well. Of course, you can’t go wrong with her four novels, and another to be released this June. I think reading Proulx is a great way to improve your writing. Currently I’m rereading all of her works and compiling a list of her best similes/metaphors. She’s just brilliant!

    Like

Leave a Reply

