5 Short Story Collections I’ve Read

DSC_1079DSC_1135 (2)

In my humble opinion, short story collections don’t get half the recognition they deserve. Perhaps the fact I write my own short stories makes me biased, but most short story collections I have read I’ve loved.  Here are 5 I’ve particularly enjoyed (in no particular order):

  1. No One Belongs Here More Than You by Miranda July
  2. Dubliners by James Joyce
  3. Saints and Sinners by Edna O’Brien
  4. The Woman and Her Little Dog and Other Short Stories by Anton Chekov
  5. Pieces edited by Stephen Chbosky

Dubliners was the first short story collection I encountered in English at college. Before that, I had always thought of short stories as being the writing exercises you do for coursework or exams. Five years at school and no one had mentioned a short story. Joyce’s prose is wonderful, detailled and each word carries its own weight. Analysing his stories was an activity I revelled in and it opened up the world of fiction for me.

Miranda July also has a special place in my literary heart. The characters of No One Belongs Here More Than You are quirky but recognisable, deluded by their fantasies. She has an intoxicating humour and a beautiful, thought provoking style.

There are hundreds of short story writers out there. I haven’t worked my way through them all yet. Colin Barret’s Young Skins and George Saunders Tenth of December are also well-worth the read. Here are a few other short story authors I am yet to read, but hoping to soon:

  • Alice Munro
  • Annie Proulx
  • David Foster Wallace
  • Katherine Mansfield
  • Tobias Wolff
  • Kevin Barry
  • Sarah Hall
  • Adam Marek

 

Author: whatadifferenceawordmakes

Book-lover, tea enthusiast and MA student

Leave a Reply

