BOOKISH FINDS: Charity Shop Treasures

DSC_1077

DSC_1058

Sometimes the best books are the ones that sneak up on you. I haven’t been into any charity shops in a while but, as my bookish desires were growing stronger, I decided to pop into a couple whiles I was milling around town. The Oxfam on Bold Street in Liverpool has a really great selection of books helpfully arranged by genre and a great selection of vintage clothing and records to. It’s definitely worth a visit if you’re ever around the area. I almost bought a beautiful copy of Maurice and Howards End by E. M. Forster, but there are only so many books you can carry. Here’s what I did pick up:

  1. A Long Way Down by Nick Hornby
  2. 31 Songs by Nick Hornby
  3. Selected Poems by Sylvia Plath
  4. The Giver by Lois Lowry

A Long Way Down & 31 Songs by Nick Hornby

Someone clearly had a good clear-out recently because there were at least five books by Nick Hornby all sitting together happily on a shelf in Oxfam until I came along and ransacked them. Hornby has had many of his novels adapted for the screen but I have to say having read High Fidelity at university that although they have the off-beat quirkiness of his books, they don’t quite capture Hornby’s sardonic humour. I put off watching the film version of A Long Way Down specifically because I want to read the book first and there it was, right in front of me. So, naturally I had to buy it. One of the things I loved about High Fidelity  was how music and memory were interlinked and I’m interested to see how Hornby writes about the music that has shaped his life in 31 Songs.

Selected Poems by Slyvia Plath

If you read my review of The Bell Jar, then you will know I’ve been desperate to read the poems of a writer who wrote such elegant prose. I’m not sure there’s anything else to say, except that it’s a beautiful old Faber and Faber addition that someone had sneakily slotted into Fiction instead of Poetry, and that it caught my eye quite accidentally. Some things are meant to be I suppose!

The Giver by Lois Lowry

I’ve had The Giver on my reading list for a while, so I’m looking forward to diving in soon. Hopefully in the next few months if I can start reading books as quickly as I buy them. I haven’t read a good fantasy in a while, not since David Mitchell’s The Bone Clocks. The recent film hasn’t had great reviews but the book has a strong fan following, so I can’t wait to start reading!

Author: Nicole @whatadifferenceawordmakes

Book-lover, tea enthusiast and MA student

Leave a Reply

