BOOKISH FINDS: Book & a Brew

DSC_1077

Book & a Brew are a company that send their subscribers a mystery hardback book and beverage each month, fusing two great loves in one small package.

I discovered this wonderful company nosing through Books, Biscuits & Tea, a blog that has an impressive five years at its back and is always an insightful and enjoyable read.

As I’ve said before, I’ve been trying to broaden my literary horizons and take a chance on the novels that deserve to be read but don’t always fit into my preferred genre(s). Book & a Brew is perfect for that. You have no idea what book is going to come your way and, honestly, I don’t think I’ve ever been more excited for a parcel in my life. Every time I heard an engine, I poked my head through the curtains to see if it was for me. Most of the time it wasn’t, and like with all things, it came one day when I wasn’t expecting it.

January’s book is The Investigation by Jung-myung Lee, a thriller set in a Korean prison in 1944. It’s not a book I’ve ever come across, but the dark premise is intriguing and (I know the allure is only skin, or should I say cover, deep) its cover of warm oranges and misty forestry is enticing.

Along with the book was Teapigs Mao Feng Tea which is another reason this package sits outside my comfort zone. I exclusively drink black tea. The only time I get close to green tea is when I’m making it for someone else. There are hundreds of teas out there that I haven’t tried simply because I’m a fan of sticking to what I know. This tea will be my first flirtation with something more exotic, and I’m excited to try it!

It’s the perfect gift for any book-lover, especially those looking to shake things up, or those who are looking to treat themselves!

Author: whatadifferenceawordmakes

Book-lover, tea enthusiast and MA student

Leave a Reply

