BOOKISH FINDS

DSC_1077DSC_1063I have a terrible habit of going into supermarkets to buy mundane items and coming out with things that I hadn’t intended on buying. This is a big issue in Asda, because they have a deal on their books and quite a few of them are surprisingly good. On this occassion I went to buy a fineliner and some fruit and came out with:

  1. The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson
  2. In a Dark Dark wood by Ruth Ware
  3. Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig

The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson

I hadn’t really heard much about this book, but I had seen its image on Amazon in my recommended reads. It wasn’t on my list of things to read, but I stumbled across an interview with Lisa Williamson on the Waterstones blog about how she wrote parts of her main character’s rights of passage that never made it into the book but that were important to the character. I just thought that if someone could invest that much time and care into their character’s then it was probably worth a read. And then I found it in Asda so that’s that! I’m looking forward to opening the first page.

In a Dark Dark Wood by Ruth Ware

As a rule I’m not a fan of Thriller books. That’s probably a massive lie. I’ll start again. As a rule I don’t tend to read Thriller books, or watch films of a similar genre, but when I do I find myself begrudgingly enjoying them. In truth, I’m more of a Classics/Fantasy/Young Adult reader BUT I’m broadening my horizons. There’s been a tonne of great Thriller books released over the past year and it’s time I poked my nose into the covers. I’ve seen a couple of blogs who’ve had some positive reviews of this book, so I’m excited to give it a try!

Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig

Having had a Christmas temp job at Waterstones, this has been on my radar for some time. I’ve wanted to read it since it’s release BUT looming university deadlines nipped that idea firmly in the bud. However, now that those deadlines have gone (I’m being deliberately ignorant of any deadlines threatening to loom in the future) and because I’m impulsive when it comes to purchasing books, I felt it was time to finally get my hands on a copy. I just have to work my way through the horrific piles of books already waiting in line…

Author: whatadifferenceawordmakes

Book-lover, tea enthusiast and MA student

Leave a Reply

