Top Ten Tuesday- 24th October 2017

21392715_10156067143295681_1299199898_o

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they post a different topic that one of their bloggers answers, and they invite others to join in, by posting their answers as a comment of by creating their own blog post.

This week’s topic is Top Ten Unique Book Titles. There are certainly an unusual book titles out there! Some draw you in, others might put you off. I’ve decided to choose ten unique titles of books I want to read/have read.

The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender

The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake

There’s cake in the title, so it’s a winner to me.

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep By Philip K Dick

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?

I think Electric Sheep is the best name for a rock band. If there is a rock band for called Electric Sheep someone needs to point me in their direction. Its also a great play on the ‘counting sheep’ saying.

Don’t Be A Dick Pete by Stuart Heritage

Don't Be a Dick Pete

I just think this perfectly sums up any sibling relationship. There’s irritation there but also exasperated fondness. You can hear yourself saying it to your brother/sister.

Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal? by Jeanette Winterson

Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal?

It such a thought-provoking title. There’s so much going on in it. Even though I haven’t read the book I can sense what might be discussed and it is a great question to ask yourself.

My Life with Bob: Flawed Heroine Keeps Book of Books, Plot Ensues by Pamela Paul

My Life with Bob: Flawed Heroine Keeps Book of Books, Plot Ensues

I think this might be one of my favourite sub-headings for a book. It’s honest, humorous and definitely makes me want to read it!

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir by Jenny Lawson

Let's Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir

I loved Furiously Happy and I would love to read this too. I like the ‘mostly’ in the title. It sums up Jenny Lawson’s writing perfectly and her infectious personality perfectly.

The Princess Diarist by Carrie Fisher

The Princess Diarist

I like the play on The Princess Diaries and how it completely sums up the memoir; it’s a book of diary entries written by Carrie, Princess Leia, during the Star Wars films.

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time by Mark Haddon

The Curious Incident of the Dog In the Night-time

I loved this book and I just think the title is fantastic. It’s not one you could easily forget.

The Heart is A Lonely Hunter by Carson McCullers

The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter

The people in this book are searching for something; companionship, affection, a purpose. I think the title sums it up beautifully.

We Don’t Know What We’re Doing by Thomas Morris

We Don't Know What We're Doing

A great title for a great short story collection. The characters in this books are stuck in fugue in Caerphilly.

What unique book titles do you love and why? Do titles draw you in or put you off books?

 

Author: Nicole @whatadifferenceawordmakes

Book-lover, tea enthusiast and MA student

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- 24th October 2017”

  1. The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake is definitely one that I’d pick up, just because of.. cake.
    Also, I actually have an idea what it’s about and I was meaning to read it this year but ended up switching it out for another book – oops.

    Titles don’t necessarily put me off! Covers are the thing that catch my eye most, haha. 😀
    Nice list!

    Like

Leave a comment